who do you say you are?

Oprah and Geneen RothOne of my guilty pleasures during the summer is catching up on reruns of “Ellen” and “Oprah.” I know, I know. But Ellen is just plain funny. I have no excuse for Oprah.

Today Oprah spoke with Geneen Roth, author of Women, Food and God. The book’s premise is that the way we eat reflects our core beliefs about ourselves and our lives, and how eating can serve as a way to numb our beliefs, our struggles, ourselves.

On a sidenote, I think it’s hilarious how Oprah invites all kinds of “experts” on her show, only for her to dominate the conversation and share her pearls of wisdom. Poor Geneen couldn’t get a word in edgewise. Oh, Oprah.

But Oprah did say one thing today that struck me as eerily prophetic.

She said that the core of the book is not about losing weight or looking better, but finding who you really are.

“I have for years talked to women who talked about losing themselves. And even in speaking to them I’d be like: ‘What are you talking about you lost yourself? You are yourself. How can you lose yourself?’ I could not even understand it,” she said. “And I will admit to you and to the world, that’s what my problem was—I got lost. In the work, in the busyness, in the craziness of my life, I got lost. And in all those years, that’s what I’ve been trying to do is to maintain the center, and when you are away from the center, you can tell.

This is what is meant by women, food and good. Coming back to the sacredness of yourself because every pound, every time you will go to the refrigerator or go to something that you shouldn’t and substitute for that which can truly fill you up, you are showing how lost you really are.”

I was so struck by the irony of her statement. Oprah admits she is lost, but she has no idea how lost she really is.  We are all lost. We are all searching. Even Miss Money-Bags Winfrey. Food. Money. Success. Love. Acceptance. It’s just never quite enough.

Whether we’re lost or not, or maybe we just feel like it, there is One who says otherwise.

So do we let these things we fill our life with tell us who we are? A number on the scale? An evaluation at work? A relationship? Or do we go to our Creator, our Savior, our Sustainer and pose the question, “God, who do you say I am?”

I’ll bet your bottom dollar His response will be much different from ours. And thank you, God that it is.

Who do you say you are?

Leave a Reply

