the goods

One of the best Christmas presents I received was a cookbook from my Mama and my Mom. No, it’s not the best of Betty Crocker or Better Homes and Gardens. It is filled with the homemade goods that have marked every holiday, birthday or special ocassion in my family for as long as I can remember.

Thanksgiving dressing, Christmas pies, Spring Break brisket – it’s all there, and I’m looking forward to giving these recipes a try and carrying on the traditions.My Mama has always been the pie maker, so if I can make a crust as half as good as she, I’ll be doing pretty good.

Homemade Pie Crust

2 c. flour

1 stick Crisco shortening

1/3 c. water

Cut Crisco into flour until it looks like small pebbles. Add water to make a ball that can be rolled out. This will make two crusts or one double crust for a fruit pie. Can freeze in a ball or in a pie plate.

  

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

