from scratch: blackberry cobbler

I’m tackling the long list of homemade family recipes that I got for Christmas. We all know I like to eat, but there are two things I dearly love — chips and salsa and blackberries, not together of course. Since sweet Julie gave me some gorgeous blackberries from East Texas, I had to start with a cobbler, and if I say so myself, it was quite a success. Must be the ridiculous amount of butter.

1/4 c. butter or margarine

1 c. flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 c. sugar

 3/4 c. milk

2-3 pints blackberries fresh or frozen

1/2 c. water

1 tsp. vanilla

 Preheat oven to 350. Melt butter in baking dish. Mix flour, baking powder, 1 c. sugar and milk; pour into baking dish. Arrange blackberries over batter. Sprinkle remaining 1/2 c. sugar over blackberries. Pour 1/2 c. water over blackberries.

Bake at 350 for 50 minutes. Enjoy! You can also substitute 4-5 large peaches or 1 large can of peaches for the berries.

Leave a Reply

