i’m thankful for…

I love Fall. It might have to do with the ridiculous scarf collection hanging in my closet. But with our balmy 80 degree temps, the Hobby Lobby aisles stocked full of Christmas decor and no sign of red or golden foliage, you might miss Fall altogether. Thank goodness for Starbuck’s and its Pumpkin Spice lattes to keep our Texas seasons in check.

However, I’ve embraced Fall at all costs, from putting a pumpkin on my front porch to freezing out my students just so I won’t have a hot flash wearing my coordinating scarf.

Perhaps it’s the season or knowing Thanksgiving is on its way, but this Fall, I would like to be intentional in giving thanks. If you know me at all, you know I’m a chronic list maker. I’m starting  a list of things I am grateful for — big things, little things, anything. No rhyme or reason, just when I stop and think about the incredible gifts I’ve been given, I am going to record them. And the point is to stop and think.

Ann Voskamp explores this idea in One Thousand Gifts. She writes, “And when I give thanks for the seemingly microscopic, I make a place for God to grow within me.” She has a great blog here.

I’m not going to post my entire list, however I would like start with my first entry.

I am thankful for encouraging friends. Friends who love me even when they are far away. Friends who point me to God. Friends who pray with me and for me. Friends who send me kitty cat cards in care packages and friends who leave me treats on my front porch.

Those are good friends.

What are you thankful for? Any chronic list makers out there want to join me?

 

Leave a Reply

