yes, and i will rejoice

flowers

In my head, I’m laid back. I tell people I’m a “go-with-the-flow” kind of gal. But if you ask my mother, she might disagree. While I am easy-going in many ways, it’s the little things that can get to me. You know the ones. They crawl right under your skin. The things that I didn’t anticipate or account for. The things that mess up the “plan.”

Exhibit A: As much as I hate to admit it, school is approaching like a freight train full speed ahead. On a side note, I had to leave Target the other day. Yes, the place that is usually my solace became a living nightmare. Children and parents frantically digging through highlighters and scissors while debating which pencil pouch to purchase. I bolted. That might be the only time in my life I’ve managed to leave Target without purchasing anything.

OK back on task…

So school is approaching, and although it may not seem like it, I’m preparing. I meeting with my yearbook staff, organizing my room, the usual. Everything was rocking along, until I discover there is a major snafu with my yearbook editors’ schedules.

How do I react? Stress. Panic. Irritation. No sleep. More stress.

I’m sure you’re thinking, “Jamie, CALM DOWN.” I know. We’re not talking life, death or tragedy here. It’s still the beginning of August, and in the grand scheme of life it’s not that big of deal.

But it was one of those little things that came out of no where, and I let it get to me. You know exactly what I’m talking about.

Check out what Paul writes in Philippians chapter one. By the way, he’s in prison. I would rate that as a “big thing.”

I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel, so that it has become known throughout the whole imperial guard and to all the rest that my imprisonment is for Christ. Phil 1:12-13

What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in that I rejoice. Yes, and I will rejoice, for I know that through your prayers and the help of  the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.  Phil 1:18-20

As he is writing this letter, Paul is in a cell under the watchful eye of a guard. And yet he still writes, “I will rejoice.”

Why? Paul’s imprisonment served as a platform for him to share the Gospel. I guess if you’re stuck with a guard 24-7, you might as well share Jesus with him. Paul goes on to write in verse 18 that he is rejoicing because Christ is proclaimed, or made known.

This got me thinking. When things are smooth sailing, do I proclaim Christ and make him known? Or only in times of struggle do I pray for a miracle and then share of God’s goodness only when I get what I want?

But when the little things come up, or big things for that matter, and I’m facing a challenge or discouragement or lack of “solutions,” God is working to make his name known even when it doesn’t seem like it.

Shouldn’t I rejoice in that and proclaim it?

Back to the schedule dilemma. I went to school in panic mode thinking there were no options, and guess what? The very person I needed to see was in the front office when I walked in the door. And we made some plans and they might work out or they might not.

Yet again, God reminded me, that He’s got things under control. And I can rejoice in that. Even if it is one of those pesky “little things.”

Leave a Reply

